Harvest Gold

It’s late summer here in the UK. The fields are yellowing and some have already been harvested. Got me thinking of my new scarecrow skirt, which I made a few weeks ago from original 1950’s fabric I bought from a cool friend in the USA.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This amazing scarecrow print was originally available in about 3 different colourways.

I don’t have lots of earthy early Autumn colours in my wardrobe, but found some 50’s fabric in my stash that I’ve had for probably 25 years! The colours went pretty good together, in a strange way! I made my favourite wrap top to wear with the skirt, accompanied by a beautiful flying bird brooch I had recently bought from Deborah’s Vintage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sunglasses are original 1950’s ones from deadmensspex.com Gold confetti flakes sparkle in the warm sun!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Yes, I did expect a bird to land on me!

So last week I met up with the guys from Rocketoriginals.co.uk and they showed me one of their new range of sweaters, There’s Burgundy as well as mustard……Mustard I thought YUK! I HATE mustard! It immediately made me think of the time in Key West when we visited a seafood buffet for lunch, see, there was a massive bowl of green stuff, presuming it was guacamole, I put a scoop onto my plate…….sat outsiide and took a big mouthful.

I have never shocked myself with a mouthful of food before! It was truly awful, and ever since just the mention of mustard, and I get the weird taste in my mouth!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This jar was a gift!

Funnily enough I received a jar beautifully gift wrapped from some Welsh friends, they too had a poodle, and had spotted this limited edition brought out for Coleman’s 200th Anniversary! I keep it in the cupboard, but the seal is still intact!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Vintage celluloid brooch

So then, back to the sweater!

Mustard NO!

Harvest gold, oh YES!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sweater and shoes from Rocket Originals

 

Don’t you just love it?  It’s matches the skirt perfectly and I teamed it up with my yellow Dorothy shoes which are such a great match!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The fields beyond our house in the valley below

Coco even joined me, she was so coordinated!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Even my Rocket Originals straw bag matched!

We had a great afternoon up the hill, couldn’t let Coco off lead as she chases rabbits!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bracelet is also original 50’s.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I also wore a deadstock hair barette from Piplotex!

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. OMG YES!!! SO MANY YESES TO THIS OUTFIT!!!! I’m 100% jealous!!

    Like

    1. retropoodles says:

      Oh Thank you so much Nora! I love your blog!x

      Like

  2. retro rover says:

    Absolutely gorgeous the fabric and the color is amazing. I also love that Colemans jar anything with a poodle! for me

    Like

    1. retropoodles says:

      Thank you so much!You must have poodlitis like me!

      Like

  3. Sheree says:

    I have only recently started following your blog and my how quickly you have become one of my favs. You style so beautifully and have the most gorgeous clothes and accessories….love love love!!! This outfit is stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. retropoodles says:

      thank you Sheree! That’s a lovely thing to say! I don’t have many followers, but Vintage life magazine want me to do a column, based on my blog! so get ready for more! I have a few ideas lined up!x

      Like

  4. Such an incredibly pretty, festive autumn look. That scarecrow print is simply amazing. It’s been sitting way up my “unicorn” novelty print wishlist for quite some time now. What a delightful treat to see it worn by a fellow vintage blogger.

    Many hugs & happy wishes for each day of fall,
    ♥ Jessica

    Liked by 1 person

    1. retropoodles says:

      Gosh thank you so much Jessica, it’s now going into print each month in Vintage Life magazine! They gave me two pages! Issue 71

      Like

  5. Fifi says:

    You mention you made your favourite vintage wrap top. I was wondering if you could share the pattern details please? I collect vintage patterns, but don’t have a wrap top!

    Like

    1. retropoodles says:

      Hi Fifi, It’s a 1950’s Butterick 7640, I have made it in loads of colours and prints! Good luck finding one! takes about a day to make mind, lots of darts and handsewing!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

